Make them uncomfortable…

Posted: September 3, 2012 in Uncategorized

“At the edge of uncomfortable is where we begin to learn.”  -unknown original author.

This is my favorite quote.  I could even go as far as saying it is the “motto” statement of my classroom.  As teachers, I think we lose sight of our greater responsibility.  Yes, we need to teach; yes we need them to pass whatever test is deemed to show that learning took place.  My favorite quote reminds me that when I can get them to learn the most is when I push them to dance on the fence of frustration/success.  We learn the greatest lessons are when we have invested the most.

So tomorrow when I return refreshed after my three day weekend, I vow not to allow my students to just dance through the moves without investment.  I vow to make them uncomfortable, to stretch their limits, to create an environment where the investment matches the payout!

Comments
  1. teachertofer says:

    Reminds me a lot of an Emerson quote one of my education professors used to use: “People wish to be settled; only as far as they are unsettled is there any hope for them.”

  2. Cindy W says:

    Oh, this is such a wonderful post 🙂

    I try to meet them somewhere in their “Zone of Proximal Development” where it’s within their reach, but they have to stretch for it. Sometimes the real challenge for me is finding out where that zone is for each student.

Leave a Reply

